Post Caterpillar Gardening Update


image

Brown Mustard

Gardening in Zone 3 is a bit of a trick.  In theory we have about 90 days frost free – pretty much hogwash for the ten years I’ve been here….. we’ve gotten hard frosts every single month of the summer.  I watch the weather report obsessively – the tarps to cover the garden beds are never very far away.  We’ve also gotten days upon days of heavy rain in a row, and days upon days of hot blistering hardpan sunshine without a raindrop in sight.  So – first trick of the trade – grow anything and everything you think will produce in less than ninety ideal days, grow things that like pouring rain, grow things that love the baking sunshine, grow things that taste better after a hard frost.  One way or another, you will get something to eat, freeze, pressure can or preserve in one way or another.

This year the whole gardening thing has seemed a fight.  A fight to have the weather even remotely decent enough to plant in, a fight to have the garden beds thaw so we could dig in manure, and of course a fight to save the pathetic little sprouted plants when the mother of all caterpillar infestations hit and the only green thing in sight, were my garden beds. Ultimately we survived it, the garden beds survived it – save for half the buckwheat (who knew caterpillars liked buckwheat?), and several small just emerging potato plants.

I envy my fellow bloggers and facebookers their gardening prowess.  I envy the fact that while I’m sitting here in the winter wondering if I should go shovel more snow or sit inside my toasty house and drool on seed catalogues – many of you are harvesting, some year round, and others are planting, others are at the weeding stage and others are getting their greenhouses set up.  It seems sometimes – everybody south of our place is a month or two or ten ahead of me.  Still – getting to see the trials and errors and successes of other gardeners keeps me going with the hope that at some point, the weather will change and I’ll get another years worth of food out of my own garden.

The Brown Mustard above – is something new for this year.  I actually make and can my own varieties of mustard, love the stuff.  It occurred to me that there was no reason I couldn’t try growing some of it…..wow!  I’m going to have an awful lot of mustard 🙂

image

Dragons Tongue bush beans

Most all of our garden ‘beds’ are three plus feet high – soil to within six inches of the top.  This serves a couple of purposes, one – weeding is extremely easy. I am long since past enjoying crawling around on the ground suffering sunstroke while I pull weeds.  Once I pull the initial offenders and the plants start to take off, the shade they provide pretty much guarantees there are no more weeds to be had.

image

Beets!

I have two four by six foot beds of these planted……we love beets and can never seem to get enough of them.  This year I planted four different varieties with the idea that whichever grew the best would be the keeper for next  year.  Problem is….I can’t remember which I planted where 🙂

image

Buckwheat, Redbor Kale, Brocolli, Cabbage

No, I’m not kidding – this bed is about three feet wide, three or so high and about twenty feet long.  I actually have good success with companion planting – that is planting like minded veggies with each other.  Aside from hoping for an optimum growing environment, I also ‘crowd’ things as close as I think I can get away with.  Again, it keeps the weeds almost nonexistent, keeps weaker plants from flopping about, creates some built in shade for hot days, and we water a lot less when the soil isn’t exposed to the sun for hours on end.

image

Cauliflower, Winterbor Kale

This bed is the same size as the one above…..but not as far along, as it is situated where it only gets full sun for about four or five hours a day.  It is however, my favorite place to plant the cauliflower – which in my experience does not like to be in full sun once heads start to form.  This may not be the case for everybody, but it works for me.  You’ll notice the wire grid on the bed – stucco wire actually – there is stucco wire available for all the beds (I removed some for pictures) – because we have cats.  Cats love fresh dirt – I don’t love them in my garden.  It’s a catch 22 – we farm, we have lots of feed around, we have mice, we need cats.

imageimage

Graffitti, Green, and Cheddar Cauliflower from last year.

These are the varieties I planted again this year, for some reason or other I can’t grow a white cauliflower to save myself.  On the flip side of the coin – now that I’ve eaten these varieties, I wonder what I was doing eating the white variety in the first plate.  This stuff is second to none for flavor!imageKidney beans, Borlotti beans, lettuces

This is a glimpse into my wee greenhouse – I’ve tried growing these beans outside – but the season simply isn’t long enough.  Thought I’d have a go at putting them into the greenhouse – and luckily – they shade the lettuces, which I usually plant outside, but didn’t this year for lack of room.

imageimage

Tomatoes – all Romas, in the greenhouse.

I have a few plants outside, but always have better success in the warmth of the greenhouse.

image

Potato Patch

This is the only thing I will plant in the ground – actually, I plant them in used up wasted goat hay.  Sometimes we till it in, sometimes not – basically I toss them on the hay, cover with some more hay, water on occasion and voila!  Again, I plant close, which is a pain when I have to fork hay in for hilling, but easy to avoid weeds.  I generally don’t panic over weeds in the potato patch – grass I’ll pull out, but pigweed or nettles generally get to stay around – good for the soil, edible anyway, and if they start to take over I simply pull some and toss it to the pigs.  There are five varieties in there – (sorry, not good on the technical names) – purple, Yukon Gold, Russet, Red Norland, and pink fingerling.

imageimage

Last, but not least – our ‘dual blade’ lawnmowers Sam and Sahra, and the calf Dilly, playing at the ‘mom I’m starving‘ game with Daisy Duke 🙂

Until next time – hope everybody is having an awesome gardening, farming, summer!

 

About valbjerke

Farmer, Transmission Rebuilder, Self Sufficiency Nut. Like the old school way of doing things. "Fast is fine - accuracy is final" (quote by some way back famous gun-slinger - likely just before he got shot dead)
This entry was posted in Gambling with Gardening and Greenspace, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Post Caterpillar Gardening Update

  1. Isn;t amazing what happens after the snow is gone on a farm… when one is willing to add some ‘work hard’ stuff~ love the photos!

  2. You’ve come a long way since I was there. Fantastic garden!! And I’ll have to try some of the other varieties of cauliflower (love the stuff.) Have sun digging in the dirt!!

  3. Bill says:

    Like you I enjoy following fellow gardening bloggers and learning how different the growing seasons can be. I can’t imagine having a risk of a hard frost in the summer. You do have challenges there. I’ve been trying to think of things that might grow well under such conditions. Have you tried Swiss Chard? It’s really a type of beet so if beets do well for you chard should also.

    I’ve never grown anything other than white cauliflower (it is a fall/winter crop for us), but now I’m wondering if we should try to grow that delicious-looking cheddar cauliflower.

    • valbjerke says:

      I usually grow rainbow chard by the bucket load – simply ran out of room this year 😊
      I find the colored cauliflowers easy to grow – of the three – the cheddar is a favorite around here – though they’re all quite tasty.

  4. Okay, I have to try the different cauliflowers this winter, they look AMAZING! It’s pretty impressive that the dragon tongue bush beans can grow that far north and this far south. They have been producing really well for me. Not quite as good as the red seeded asparagus beans, but definitely better than the blue lake bush beans. I can’t imagine dealing with hard frost 12 MONTHS OF THE YEAR. That’s crazy! If I’m lucky I avoid it all together! Actually July here has been really mild. Monsoons hit. Humidity is WAY up, but temps are down into the 105 range, so… doesn’t feel too bad. Only in the mid-80s at night. That’s pretty nice for July. If life slowed down a bit I could do some weeding. As it is the garden is one big mass of plants. Makes hunting for squash bugs a little tough but I’m up for the challenge! Glad your caterpillar plague has ended. Quite frankly that post gave me nightmares. 🙂 Enjoy the warmth!

    • valbjerke says:

      Well it’s definitely been an interesting year – garden wise and weather wise. Right now were in the middle of a record breaking heat wave – temps similar to yours, excepting for the fact that it cools down much more at night. And of course in this province – record heat means record wildfires – at this very moment the forest fire smoke is so thick you can only see a block or so distance in town.
      Yes – definitely try the cauliflowers – the taste is truly a cut above. I find them very easy to grow.
      All your garden looks awesome – melons I don’t grow – would need to do in the greenhouse – don’t have the space. I sure hope your corn world out 😊

  5. Åsa says:

    Reading from North of Sweden I am very happy to have found your blog since we also have about 3 months growing season before the cold at least slows everything down. This year we had frost in late June and a very hot long period during July and August plus almost no rain from beginning of June – not even the grass was growing normally. After that it started raining bucketfuls all day around for a couple of weeks, but at least we had no frost in August. It is very nice to have tips and looks around from a garden with similar conditions – I had never thought of growing kidney beans but if you manage them in your greenhouse I might have a go once I get my new up. I try to use broad beans instead, they usually grow happily outside and give quite a large harvest. This year even they struggled, though, out of range from the sprinkler that I did not dare using more than for the most necessary parts because of fear of drought. I wish you a good harvest!

    • valbjerke says:

      We’ve had a bit of a drought here too this year – the grazing grass is long since gone and we’ve been feeding hay out. Had our first hard frost here August 14 – thankfully I had already picked and processed my bush beans. The kidney beans and borlotti beans are doing awesome in the greenhouse – they have however – escaped. The top of our greenhouse is twelve feet high, and the beans have all climbed out the vents 😀. I’m going to get a good harvest though – some of the pods are nine inches long.

Leave a Reply

